I am a teacher….

I am a high school level art teacher. It is the end of the school year which is an exciting time at a high school. Graduation is around the corner and we’ll, everything and everyone is a little nuts .

My room and after wearing this shirt- students brought me tacos.

This year, amongst the cheerful chaos, there is sadness, fear and a feeling of uncertainty. The recent school shooting in Texas has brought worry to, not only the teachers, but the students. One of my sophomores asked me “Lucas do you have a plan, for you know….” Yes, I know. I think about it often. Though they are in high school, their fear is real. I talked with the student and told them of the schools plan and my plan. I told them I would do my best to protect all of my students. After hearing this she looked at me and said “Wow! You’ve really thought about this. I feel a little better in your classroom now.” The truth is I don’t feel any better. I worry and I am scared that I won’t be able to do enough to protect my students and myself.

All I know is that something needs to be done. I don’t know the answers but schools MUST be a place where students (and teachers) feel emotionally and physically safe.

No matter what, I’ll still teach. I’ve been teaching 13 years and the last 3 have been the hardest, but I know things will get better. When I hear a student tell me thank you for teaching me, while beaming with pride holding a drawing they just finished, or a senior, who I’ve known for 3 years, is going graduate after major struggles with mental health issues, thanks me for always being there, believing in them and listening- I know it’s worth it.

About maddiesminions

Hello! I am a mother, high school art teacher and maker of monsters, monkeys and other plush dolls. I love to make things from socks and fleece. I hate wearing socks which most people don't quite undrestand, because I buy so many pairs of them.
This entry was posted in Teaching. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment